Melvin Ejim honored as Big 12's best

Updated: March 10, 2014, 11:33 AM ET
By Jeff Goodman | ESPN.com

Iowa State senior Melvin Ejim was chosen as Big 12 Player of the Year, in a vote taken by the league's coaches.

Ejim was chosen over Kansas' freshman duo of Andrew Wiggins and Joel Embiid, Cyclones teammates DeAndre Kane and Georges Niang along with preseason favorite Marcus Smart of Oklahoma State.

Ejim is the first Cyclone to win the award since Jamaal Tinsley in 2001. Iowa State finished the regular season 23-7 overall and 11-7 in Big 12 play.

Ejim ...

Read full story


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.