Discussion

Big Ten says official misapplied rule

Updated: December 2, 2011, 5:59 PM ET
By Myron Medcalf | ESPN.com

An official's back court violation call in the closing seconds of Minnesota's 58-55 victory over Virginia Tech on Wednesday was the wrong ruling and the referee who made the call will be disciplined, the Big Ten announced Friday.

Down 56-55 with 9.9 seconds on the clock, Virginia Tech's Dorian Finney-Smith tossed the ball to Robert Brown on the inbounds. Brown bobbled the pass and the ball crossed half court. An official blew the whistle, signaling a back court violation.

The Big ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

SPONSORED HEADLINES