Sources: Xavier, Butler also joining

Updated: March 1, 2013, 2:29 AM ET
By and Dana O'Neil | ESPN.com

The Big East's seven departing Catholic schools are expected to start their own league next season and will keep the Big East Conference name, sources told ESPN's Brett McMurphy, Andy Katz and Dana O'Neil.

Joining the Catholic 7 schools -- DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, St. John's, Seton Hall, and Villanova -- in the new "Big East" this fall will be Xavier and Butler, sources said.

Creighton has emerged as the favorite to become the 10th team, and would also join next ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?