Johnson forced eight fumbles this season

CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- Texas linebacker Derrick Johnson won the
Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Monday night as the best defensive player
in college football.
Johnson tied an NCAA record by forcing eight fumbles this
season, leading the Longhorns (No. 5 ESPN/USA Today; No. 6 AP) to a 10-1 record and
their first trip to the Rose Bowl. The Big 12 defensive player of
the year had 128 tackles, 19 for loss, and an interception.
"He's a special guy, real special," Texas defensive
coordinator Greg Robinson said. "We will miss him."'
The senior became the first Texas player to win the 12-year-old
award, presented by the Football Writers Association of America and
the Charlotte Touchdown Club.
The other finalists were Auburn defensive back Carlos Rogers and
defensive ends Jonathan Goddard of Marshall, Erasmus James of
Wisconsin and David Pollack of Georgia.
Johnson also is a finalist for the Bednarik, Lombardi and Butkus
The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is named for the former Minnesota
All-American, a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.