TBD By Editor
Getty Images/AP Photo

The Architects

Three coaches, two undefeated seasons, four national titles (1983, 1987, 1989, 1991). Miami's dynasty began under Howard Schnellenberger, and by his fifth and final season, in 1983, Miami had won its first national title. Led by freshman quarterback Bernie Kosar, the Canes upset Nebraska, 31-30, in the Orange Bowl to punctuate an 11-1 season and a No. 1 spot in the polls. Jimmy Johnson continued that success, and in 1987, Miami went undefeated in winning its second national title. The Dennis Erickson era featured two more national titles for the program, as Miami went 11-1 in Erickson's first season and then went undefeated in 1991, winning the Associated Press national title. -- Heather Dinich