Top linebacker award presented Dec. 8

HOUSTON -- For the second straight year, Georgia defensive
end David Pollack has been named a finalist for the Lombardi Award,
given annually to the college football player deemed the nation's
top lineman or linebacker.

Southern Cal defensive end Shaun Cody, Wisconsin defensive end
Erasmus James and Texas linebacker Derrick Johnson are the other
finalists for the award, to be presented Dec. 8 in Houston.

This is the first time since 1990 that seniors made up the
entire class of finalists. Notre Dame's Chris Zorich was the award
winner that year, beating out Illinois' Moe Gardner, Miami's
Russell Maryland and Auburn's David Rocker.

Finalists, announced Tuesday, were selected in a vote of more
than 500 members of the Rotary Lombardi Selection Committee. The
committee is comprised of media members, all Division I coaches and
all past winners of the award.

Pollack is the 15th player to be selected a finalist for a
second time. Nine of the previous 14 players won the award
following their second nomination, including Oklahoma's Tommie
Harris last year.

Thorpe semifinalists announced
Miami's Antrel Rolle and Auburn's Carlos Rogers are among 12 semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award announced Tuesday.

The other semifinalists for the award, given annually to college football's best defensive back, are Tennessee's Jason Allen, Georgia Tech's James Butler, Georgia's Thomas Davis, Wisconsin's Jim Leonhard, Oregon State's Mitch Meeuwsen, Clemson's Justin Miller, New Mexico's Brandon Payne, Michigan's Ernest Shazor, LSU's Corey Webster and Virginia Tech's Jimmy Williams.

Three finalists will be selected Nov. 22, and the winner will be announced Dec. 9

Oklahoma's Derrick Strait won the award last year.