Salary increased from $1.8M to $2.05M

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. -- Tennessee's Phillip Fulmer received a
raise that will push his salary over $2 million per year, putting
him among the top paid coaches in college football.

Fulmer's total contract was increased from nearly $1.8 million
to $2.05 million annually and extended by one year to 2011,
university officials announced Tuesday.

The 54-year-old took over as Volunteers head coach at the end of
the 1992 season. He has the longest tenure among current
Southeastern Conference coaches and a record of 123-31.

"I can honestly say that I have the best job in America,
serving as an ambassador for the state and university that mean so
much to me," Fulmer said in a statement. "There is no place I'd
rather be than on our campus and on our sideline teaching our young

Tennessee was 10-3, won the SEC East and beat Texas A&M in the
Cotton Bowl last season. It was Fulmer's eighth season with 10 or
more victories.

"Not only did Phillip and his staff do a great job with one of
the youngest teams in the SEC, but he continues to represent the
university in a positive manner," athletic director Mike Hamilton
said. "In a world where coaching changes appear to be coming more
frequently, Phillip brings a tremendous amount of stability to our
program, and we feel Tennessee football is well-positioned for the

Other coaches making $2 million or more annually include Florida
State's Bobby Bowden, Oklahoma's Bob Stoops, Texas' Mack Brown and
Florida's Urban Meyer. Auburn coach Tommy Tuberville has reached an
agreement in principle for a compensation package worth about $2.3
million a year.

Fulmer's base salary rose from $275,000 to $325,000. He gets
$800,000 for being on radio and television shows, an equipment and
apparel fee of $625,000 and $300,000 for endorsements and

The new contract changes the amounts of incentives. Instead of
getting a percentage of his base salary for accomplishments such as
winning the SEC or national championships, the incentives are a
flat fee.

Fulmer would get $37,5000 for going to a non-BCS bowl and
$250,000 for winning the national championship.