Weis sets out to remind school of tradition

SOUTH BEND, Ind. -- New Notre Dame football coach Charlie
Weis is looking to the school's storied past to help with the
Weis said Tuesday that former Irish greats Joe Montana, Joe
Theismann, Tim Brown and Chris Zorich would be honorary coaches for
the annual Blue-Gold game on April 23. He said it's the first step
in trying to use the school's past to help restore its image.
"I think sometimes players -- and students for that matter --
should be reminded of that tradition,'' said Weis, the first Notre
Dame alumnus to coach at the school in more than 40 years.
"I think these four men are representative of the tradition of
Notre Dame,'' he said. "I think that's one of the things I find
important and one to make sure I magnify.''
Weis took over a football team that was 6-6 last season. The
Fighting Irish haven't posted back-to-back winning seasons since
1997-98 and haven't seriously challenged for a national
championship since finishing the 1993 season ranked No. 3.
Zorich was a nose tackle on the 1988 team that won the school's
last national championship. Brown, a receiver, was the last Irish
player to win a Heisman Trophy in 1987.