Mount Union's 110-game winning streak ends

ALLIANCE, Ohio -- Mount Union lost a regular-season game for the first time since 1994 on Saturday, falling 21-14 to Ohio Northern in a Division III matchup.

Mount Union had won 110 straight regular-season games and had not lost an Ohio Athletic Conference or regular-season game since Oct. 15, 1994, when Baldwin-Wallace beat the Purple Raiders 23-10 at Mount Union.

During the streak, Mount Union (6-1, 5-1) won seven national championships, including three in a row from 1996-98 and again from 2000-02. The Purple Raiders have won the OAC for 13 straight years, 12 of them outright.

R.J. Meadows rushed for 148 yards and three touchdowns for Ohio Northern (6-1, 5-1).

He had touchdown runs of 3 and 1 yards in the first quarter to give the Polar Bears a 14-0 lead.

Matt Kostelnik returned a blocked punt 42 yards to pull Mount Union within 14-7 with 9:29 to play in the second, but Meadows scored on a 24-yard run to give Ohio Northern a 21-7 lead.

Mike Jorris tossed a 35-yard TD pass to Maxwell Smith with 2:24 left in the game to make it 21-14, but Ohio Northern recovered the ensuing onside kick and ran out the clock.

The Polar Bears forced four turnovers, had 217 yards rushing and held the ball for almost 37 minutes.

Aaron Robinson rushed for 115 yards for Mount Union. Jorris finished 13-for-27 for 184 yards.