Cramer of Dayton, Woodhead of Chadron State head team

Brandon Cramer of Dayton and Danny Woodhead of Chadron State lead the 2007 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America Football teams.

The teams, selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America, honor athletes who are at least sophomores with at least a 3.2 grade point average (on a 4.0 scale). They are nominated by their school's sports information director.

Cramer, a defensive star for Dayton, is a 4.0 pre-medicine student and represents the University Division. It's his third Academic All-America honor; he was a first-team pick last year and a second-team selection in 2005.

He is one of 12 repeat Academic All-Americas in the University division. Two quarterbacks are back: Brian Brohm (Louisville) and Paul Smith (Tulsa). They are joined by Tim Tebow of Florida, the only sophomore on the first or second teams.

Other repeat All-Americas are wide receiver Wes Doyle (San Diego), running back Cory Koenig (South Dakota State), offensive lineman Christopher Joseph (UCLA), defensive back Patrick O'Neill (San Diego), defensive back Adam Shada (Iowa), linebacker Cody Kase (New Mexico), linebacker Mike Klinkenborg (Iowa), tight end John Carlson (Notre Dame), offensive lineman Ryne Nutt (Central Connecticut State) and linebacker Jordan Senn (Portland State).

A total of 11 schools placed a pair of student-athletes on the first and/or second teams: Harvard, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisville, North Dakota State, Notre Dame, San Diego, South Dakota State and Texas.

Woodhead, the all-time leading rusher in all NCAA divisions with 7,871 career yards, is a first-team Academic All-America for the second straight year. He's has a 3.72 GPA in math and physical education and was the 2006 Harlon Hill Award winner as the best player in NCAA Division II. Chadron State is 12-0 thus far this season.

Woodhead is one of 14 repeat selections at the College Division level. Joining him as repeat selections were first-team honorees wide receiver Weston Dressler (North Dakota), offensive lineman Mike Butterworth (Slippery Rock), defensive back William "Jake" Weller (Illinois College) and linebacker Kyle Elsasser (Nebraska Wesleyan). Also earning first-team honors that were second-team selections a year ago include wide receiver Kyle Duchman (Wartburg), offensive lineman Brian Freeman (Carnegie Mellon), defensive backs Nick Dellasega (Pittsburg State) and Andrew Rape (Rochester), linebacker Matt Alves (Texas Lutheran), defensive lineman Spencer Dickinson (Minnesota State-Mankato) and punter Kevin Soflkiancs (Baldwin-Wallace). Earning their second appearance on an Academic All-America team in as many years were second-team honorees defensive back Shawn Cunningham (Winona State) and quarterback Jeff Highfill (Bridgewater).

Five schools placed a pair of student-athletes on the first team, including Carnegie Mellon, North Dakota, Pittsburg State, Slippery Rock, Ferris State and Thiel, while Rose-Hulman had a pair selected to the second team. Carnegie Mellon and North Dakota joined Mount Union to lead the way with a total of three athletes honored on one of the two teams.