Chadron State's Woodhead leads trio of Harlon Hill Award finalists

FLORENCE, Ala. -- Running back Danny Woodhead of Chadron
State, the leading rusher in college football history, was among
three record-setting finalists announced Monday for the Harlon Hill
Trophy, which Woodhead won in 2006.

The other two finalists for the trophy given to Division II's
top player are Delta State linebacker Michael Eubanks, who holds
the Division II career record for sacks, and running back Bernard
Scott of Abilene Christian, who set Division II records for
touchdowns and points in a season.

The winner will be announced Dec. 14. The three finalists were
the top vote-getters out of a field of nine candidates in voting by
Division II sports information directors.

Woodhead, a senior from North Platte, Neb., is trying to become
the third person in the award's 22-year history to be named
national player of the year twice. He has been a Hill candidate for
four straight years.

Woodhead finished his career as the leading rusher in the
history of college football with 7,962 yards and ranks second
all-time in all divisions in all-purpose yardage with 9,479. His
109 career touchdowns ties the NCAA record and his 654 career
points ranks second all-time.

Eubanks, a senior from Cleveland, Miss., led one of the nation's
top defensive units this season with 90 tackles, 12 sacks and 27
tackles for loss. He also helped lead Delta State to a 10-2 record
that included a Gulf South Conference Championship and a spot in
the quarterfinals of the NCAA playoffs.

Eubanks set the all-time Division II career record for
quarterback sacks with 39 for 249 yards. He ranks third all-time in
Division II history in career tackles for loss with 20.5 for 355

Scott, a junior from Vernon, Texas, set NCAA Division II records
for touchdowns scored in a season (39), rushing touchdowns in a
season (35) and points scored in a season (234). He rushed for
2,165 yards in 2007 and went over 100 yards in a game 11 times.