Mount Union to face Wis.-Whitewater

ALLIANCE, Ohio -- Backup quarterback Matt Piloto passed for 335 yards and four touchdowns to lead Mount Union past Bethel (Minn.) 34-14 on Saturday -- and into its 14th Division III championship game.

The Purple Raiders (14-0) will play Wisconsin-Whitewater in the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl for the sixth consecutive year, seeking to avenge a 38-28 loss a year ago.

Wisconsin-Whitewater advanced to this year's title game by beating Wesley 27-7.

Piloto replaced Neal Seaman after one series. Seaman limped off with a leg injury sustained while making a touchdown-saving tackle at his own 3-yard line after throwing an interception.

Quarterback Josh Aakre's 1-yard run gave the Royals (12-2) a 7-0 lead.

Piloto threw TD passes of 25, 80, 25 and 7 yards. Tyler Almeida kicked field goals of 24 and 23 yards before the Royals' Logan Flannery scored on a 4-yard run with 1:37 left.

Mount Union will seek its 11th national championship -- first since 2008.

Standing in its way will be the Warhawks (14-0) who are the reigning national champions.

Wisconsin-Whitewater got 146 rushing yards and two touchdowns out of Levell Coppage and picked off Wesley quarterback Justin Sottilare five times to earn another Stagg Bowl showdown with Mount Union.

The Warhawks won the title in 2009 and '07 while the Purple Raiders claimed the 2005, '06 and '08 championships.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.