Currie, Davenport, Irvin also nominated

The Atlanta Tipoff Club named its four finalists for the 2005 Naismith Trophy on Sunday -- LSU's Seimone Augustus, Duke's Monique Currie, Ohio State's Jessica Davenport and TCU's Sandora Irvin.

The finalists were chosen through a vote by the club's Board of Selectors, which narrowed the midseason list of 30 candidates to four. The Board -- comprised of basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the U.S. -- based its criteria on player performance this season.

Augustus, the SEC player of the year, leads the Lady Tigers with 20.1 points per game and a 55.4 shooting percentage. The junior guard has 4.5 rebounds per game and was named first-team All-SEC.

ACC player of the year Currie has averaged 17.6 points, 7.0 rebounds, 3.3 assists and 2.2 steals this season. The junior guard is the only ACC player to rank in the top 15 in scoring, rebounding, assists and steals. Currie was the only unanimous first-team All-ACC selection this year.

Big Ten player of the year Davenport leads the Buckeyes with 19.3 points, 9.1 rebounds and 3.4 blocks per game. The sophomore center averaged a double-double in league games.

C-USA player of the year and defensive player of the year Irvin averaged 20.1 points, 12 rebounds, 4.5 blocked shots, 2.1 assists and 2.5 steals per game. This season the senior forward also broke the NCAA records for blocked shots in a single game (16) and career blocked shots (428, although she currently has 474). Irvin was named to the C-USA all-tournament team, all-decade team and first team, and was also named C-USA tournament MVP.

The winner will be recognized at the Naismith Awards Banquet on
April 8 in Atlanta.