Augustus, Currie among the nominees

LOS ANGELES -- Seimone Augustus of LSU, Duke's Monique
Currie, Ohio State's Jessica Davenport, Janel McCarville of
Minnesota and Kendra Wecker of Kansas State were named finalists
for the women's John R. Wooden Award as college basketball's player
of the year Wednesday.

The award, along with the men's winner, will be presented April
9 at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

More than 200 national sports writers and women's college
basketball experts cast their votes, which were due Monday.
Augustus is the only Wooden finalist whose team advanced to this
weekend's Final Four in Indianapolis.

Augustus was second in the Southeastern Conference in scoring
(20.1). Currie averaged 17.5 points and 7.1 rebounds in helping
Duke to a share of the Atlantic Coast Conference title and final
eight berth in the NCAA tournament.

Davenport led Ohio State to a share of the Big Ten title while
averaging 19.3 points and 9.1 rebounds. McCarville led Minnesota in
scoring (16.0), rebounds (10.6), assists (3.7) and steals (2.2).
Wecker finished her career as the Big 12 career scoring leader.

Duke's Alana Beard won the first women's Wooden Award last year.