Navratilova to speak at award banquet

Duke's Lindsey Harding is one of 11 finalists for the Nancy Lieberman Award, given annually to the nation's top collegiate point guard.

North Carolina's Ivory Latta, Iowa State's Lyndsey Medders and Connecticut's Renee Montgomery are also among the finalists.

The award, in its eighth season and named for Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman, is given by the Rotary Club of Detroit and is based on floor leadership, playmaking and ball-handling skills. The 11 finalists were voted on by sportswriters from across the country.

Three finalists and a winner will be selected from the final 11 and announced during the NCAA Final Four weekend of April 1-3, in Cleveland, Ohio. This year's award will be presented at a luncheon at The Detroit Athletic Club on April 19, 2007, in Detroit, featuring keynote speaker Martina Navratilova.

The list of finalists:

1. Kimberly Beck George Washington
2. Dee Davis Vanderbilt
3. Lindsey Harding Duke
4. Cameo Hicks Washington
5. JJ Hones Stanford
6. Ivory Latta North Carolina
7. Lyndsey Medders Iowa State
8. Renee Montgomery Connecticut
9. Mandy Morales Montana
10. Rudy Sims Arkansas State
11. Kristi Toliver Maryland