Duke's Goestenkors named WBCA coach of year

Duke women's basketball coach Gail Goestenkors has been named 2007 Russell Athletic/Women's Basketball Coaches Association NCAA Division I Coach of the Year.

"Gail Goestenkors has earned her keep amongst such a wonderful group of coaches at the NCAA Division I level," WBCA CEO Beth Bass said in a statement.

In 15 years at Duke, Goestenkors has lifted the Blue Devils from relative obscurity to national prominence. She has amassed a 396-98 record and is on pace to become the quickest ACC coach to 400 wins.

Goestenkors has guided the Blue Devils to four NCAA Final Four appearances over the last eight years and five ACC tournament crowns.

Top-ranked Duke became the first ACC team and only the 14th in NCAA history to finish the regular season undefeated. Goestenkors also led Duke to its NCAA-record seventh straight 30-win season.

Gail also received WBCA Coach of the Year accolades in 2003.

The winner is selected through a two-level process. The first level is by region, in which coaches from each WBCA geographical region vote for their respective top coach. Goestenkors, having received the most votes in WBCA Region 2, advanced as a finalist to the national level of the selection process along with the other seven regional winners.

Also honored at the regional level were Connecticut's Geno Auriemma (Region 1), Tennessee's Pat Summitt (Region 3), Bowling Green's Curt Miller (Region 4), Middle Tennessee State's Rick Insell (Region 5), Purdue's Sharon Versyp (Region 6), Boise State's Gordy Presnell (Region 7), and Stanford's Tara VanDerveer (Region 8).

Goestenkors and the winners from the other divisions will be honored at the Russell Athletic/WBCA National Coach of the Year Luncheon April 2, in conjunction with the WBCA National Convention in Cleveland.