Wooden candidates narrowed to 20-player pool

The John R. Wooden Award finalists have been narrowed down to a 20-player group.

The midseason list is based on individual player performance and team records during the first half of the season. Forty-seven players received votes for the midseason list, and six players who were not on the preseason top-30 list were selected to the Midseason top 20.

The candidates are: Matee Ajavon, Rutgers; Charel Allen, Notre Dame; Chante Black, Duke; Tina Charles, Connecticut; Natalie Doma, Idaho State; Sylvia Fowles, LSU; Amber Holt, Middle Tennessee; Tasha Humphrey, Georgia; Crystal Kelly, Western Kentucky; Crystal Langhorne, Maryland; Erlana Larkins, North Carolina; Angel McCoughtry, Louisville; Maya Moore, Connecticut; Courtney Paris, Oklahoma; Candace Parker, Tennessee; Andrea Riley, Oklahoma State; Kristi Toliver, Maryland; Ashley Walker, Cal; Marcedes Walker, Pitt; Candice Wiggins, Stanford.

Seven NCAA conferences are represented, including the Big East conference, which tops the list with six players, followed by the ACC with four, the SEC with three, the Big 12, Sun Belt and Pac-10 each with two, and the Big Sky with one.

Players who do not make the midseason list are still eligible for consideration for the Wooden Award. In March, the Women's National Advisory Board will release the names of the players selected to the official voting ballot. The ballot consists of approximately 15 players who have proven to their universities that they are making progress toward graduation and are maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA.

More than 300 voters, comprised of sports media members and women's college basketball experts from across the nation, will cast their votes for the five-member All-American team and Wooden Award honor as the most outstanding female collegiate basketball player in the nation.

The 2008 Award ceremony, which will include the presentation of the Men's and Women's Wooden Award winners, the Wooden Award All-American Teams, and the Legends of Coaching Award to Pat Summitt of the University of Tennessee, will be held at The Los Angeles Athletic Club on April 11-12.