Auriemma named coach of year, Moore freshman of year

TAMPA, Fla. -- Connecticut picked up a pair of awards from the U.S. Basketball Writers' Association on Thursday.

Geno Auriemma has been selected as coach of the year and Maya Moore freshman of the year.

Auriemma was selected for the third time in his career. Since the award started in 1990, he is also the only coach to be honored more than once.

The Huskies will play in their ninth NCAA Final Four after winning the Big East regular season and tournament titles. Auriemma has won 18 national coach of the year awards and was previously recognized this season as the Associated Press coach of the year and the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) coach of the year.

Moore, who was an Associated Press first team All-America choice and the Big East player of the year, becomes the first UConn freshman selected to the USBWA All-America first team.