'Dores picked ahead of Lady Vols as preseason SEC favorite

Vanderbilt has been predicted to win the 2008-09 SEC race, as voted on by a panel of both conference and national media members.

The Commodores, who went 25-9 last season, garnered 12 first-place votes en route to 273 points. Tennessee (nine first-place votes) was second with 261 points. Auburn (246), Georgia (216), LSU (183) and Florida (174) rounded out the top half of the league, followed by Kentucky (129), Ole Miss (126), Mississippi State (87), Arkansas (81), South Carolina (72) and Alabama (25). Georgia received four first-place votes.

Auburn senior DeWanna Bonner was selected as the preseason SEC player of the year. Joining her on the All-SEC First Team was Vanderbilt's Christina Wirth (who received one vote for player of the year honors), Florida's Marshae Dotson, Georgia's Ashley Housts and Ole Miss' Shawn Goff.

Tennessee's Angie Bjorklund and freshman Shekinna Stricklen, were joined on the second team by Whitney Boddie of Auburn, Sha Brooks of Florida, Angel Robinson of Georgia and Allison Hightower of LSU.