UConn coach's Naismith win a record

Can Geno Auriemma match his sixth Naismith award with a sixth national championship Tuesday night in St. Louis? David Butler II/US Presswire

With his Connecticut team on the verge of a third undefeated season and sixth national championship, Geno Auriemma was named winner of the Naismith award as the women's college basketball coach of the year.

The announcement was made Tuesday by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

Auriemma is a six-time recipient (1995, '97, 2000, '02, '08) of the Naismith award, most of any coach. Tennessee's Pat Summitt has won the Naismith five times.

Other 2009 Naismith finalists included Sherri Coale of Oklahoma, Nell Fortner of Auburn and Aaron Johnston of South Dakota State.

UConn is 38-0 heading into Tuesday night's national championship game against Louisville. Auriemma has coached the Huskies for 24 seasons. This is UConn's fourth consecutive 30-win season and 14th in the last 16 seasons.

"It's been a remarkable season for Connecticut and a continuation of the strong foundation that Geno has built throughout his career," Gary Stokan, Atlanta Tipoff Club president, said in a statement. "He is a tremendous ambassador of the game of college basketball and a deserving Naismith Award winner."