NCAA picks 2011 tourney host cities

INDIANAPOLIS -- Spokane will be the first city to host the opening two rounds and a regional of the NCAA women's basketball tournament in the same year.

The Washington city was one of 16 chosen by the NCAA women's basketball committee on Thursday to host the first two rounds in 2011. Gonzaga will host the first two rounds in its on-campus arena while the regional will be hosted by Washington State at the Spokane Veterans Memorial Arena.

Dayton, a regional site this year, Philadelphia and Dallas will host regionals in 2011.

Joining Gonzaga as hosts for the first two rounds are Auburn, Baylor, Connecticut, Duke, Louisiana Tech, Maryland, New Mexico, Ohio State, Penn State, Stanford, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Wichita State, and Xavier.