Yori, not Auriemma, coach of the year

SAN ANTONIO -- Nebraska's Connie Yori is The Associated Press' women's college basketball coach of the year.

Yori received 28 votes from the 40-member national media panel, well ahead of Connecticut's Geno Auriemma, who had 10.

Yori guided Nebraska on one of the biggest turnarounds in NCAA history, going from 15-16 last season to winning their first 30 games before losing in the Big 12 tournament semifinals, then reached the regional semifinals for the first time in school history.

"This season has been a perfect storm," Yori said. "You've got a lot of things that fell into place for us."

Her team, which was picked to finish sixth in the Big 12, had a No. 1 seed in the NCAA tournament.

"It's more than just about the season," she added. "This has been the culmination of a lot of hard work by a lot of people -- the coaching staff, players past and present. They deserve all the accolades that have come their direction as well."

Yori became the first Big 12 coach to win the award, which has been given out since 1995. She received 28 votes while Auriemma got 10. Pat Summitt of Tennessee and Rizzotti of Hartford each got a vote.