Stephen Brashear/Getty Images
2hSheil Kapadia

NFL: Late 'illegal bat' penalty missed vs. Seahawks

K.J. Wright should have been called for an illegal bat out of the end zone at the end of the Lions-Seahawks game, giving Detroit the ball back at the Seattle 1, NFL refs czar Dean Blandino said.

AP Photo/Jonathan Bachman
5hKevin Seifert

False alarm? Field goal pct. nearly same in '15

A weekend of hand-wringing over NFL place-kicking has left the league right where it started -- with a conversion rate nearly identical to last season's through four weeks of play.

Vick, Steelers looking to bounce back in San Diego (1:55)
Dale Zanine/USA TODAY Sports
13hJohn Clayton

Clayton: The golden age of Matt Ryan

Matt Ryan is now 30, but he could just be entering his prime, with weapons to throw to, a running game to fall back on, and a coaching staff eager to maximize his talent.

This is the year for Andy Dalton (1:28)
Jaworski: Eagles use of Murray inexcusable (1:30)
14hDave Tuley

Tuley: Week 5 early line moves

ESPN Chalk's Dave Tuley provides his analysis on the early Week 5 pro football line moves, including which teams the wiseguys are on early.

Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images
20hMatt Bowen

Bowen: The magic of James Jones

Even when the Packers' 31-year-old receiver is covered, he's open, thanks to an unstoppable route and a quarterback who can put the ball in the tightest of windows.

Brees, Spiller connect to stun Cowboys in OT (1:24)
Kirby Lee/USA TODAY Sports

Game balls: Who starred in Week 4

Running back Chris Ivory, who rushed for 166 yards and a touchdown in the Jets' win over the Dolphins in London, is one of Sunday's top performers.


Controversy reigns after Chancellor strips Megatron

Kam Chancellor saved the game for the Seahawks when he stripped Calvin Johnson just inches from the goal line with less than two minutes left. However, K.J. Wright batted the ball out of the back of the end zone for a touchback that should've been a penalty.


Reactions to controversial ending

  • SEA coach Pete Carroll: "We were fortunate."
  • DET coach Jim Caldwell: "We're not going to cry about it."
  • DET WR Calvin Johnson: "At the end of the day, you can't leave it in the referees' hands."
  • SEA LB K.J. Wright: "I wanted to just knock it out of bounds and not try to catch it and fumble it."


Bennett: Chancellor needs to get paid

Seahawks DE Michael Bennett videobombed teammate Kam Chancellor's interview by yelling "Pay him!"


$350K gambling scandal erupts in DFS

According to The New York Times, a DraftKings employee admitted last week to inadvertently releasing data before the start of the third week of NFL games, a move akin to insider trading in the stock market. The employee -- a midlevel content manager -- won $350,000 at rival site FanDuel that same week. Story

Matthew Emmons/USA TODAY Sports

How should Lions react to ending?

Scott Van Pelt asks Louis Riddick how he would react to NFL VP of Officiating Dean Blandino's statement that the referees incorrectly handled the K.J. Wright batted ball that gave the Seahawks a touchback: "What can you do?"


Bennett blames Stafford for JFK?

A day after his brother made an audacious claim, Seattle Seahawks defensive end Michael Bennett might have one-upped him by saying he holds the JFK assassination against Matthew Stafford. Bennett's strange claim

Matthew Emmons/USA TODAY Sports

Sheil Kapadia @SheilKapadia

K.J. Wright left no doubt about his intention on fumble. "I wanted to just knock it out of bounds and not try to catch it and fumble it."

Seahawks hang on to top Lions

Kam Chancellor forced Calvin Johnson to fumble at the goal line late in the fourth quarter, securing Seattle's 13-10 win over Detroit.


Chancellor saves game for Seattle

Seahawks S Kam Chancellor on his game-changing fumble against Calvin Johnson, which helped seal Seattle's 13-10 win over Detroit: "It's never over 'til you cross that end zone."


Explanation from the officiating crew

NFL VP of Officiating Dean Blandino after speaking to the officiating crew at Monday night's Seahawks-Lions game: "I have spoken to the referee (Tony Corrente). He did not see that part of the play because that is not his area. The back judge (Greg Wilson) felt is was not an intentional act, that it was inadvertent."


Ed Werder @Edwerderespn

In replays, back judge Greg Wilson is on end line, staring at KJ Wright with unobstructed view and rules tap was inadvertent

Controversial finish to Monday night game

After Kam Chancellor forced the Calvin Johnson fumble near the goal line, KJ Wright batted the ball in the end zone over the back line for a touchback. Wright's play was illegal, according to Dean Blandino, head of NFL officiating, and thus the Lions should have gotten the ball back at half yard line. Story


VP of Officiating on controversial ending

Dean Blandino, NFL VP of Officiating, on KJ Wright batting the ball out of the end zone: "Judgment call on the field. Back judge felt it wasn't overt. That's why he didn't call it on the field."


Michael Rothstein ESPN Staff Writer 

Lions WR Calvin Johnson was asked about being part of another controversial call going against him -- like the process catch rule: "At the end of the day you can't leave it in the referee's hands."

Lions' reaction to controversial ending

  • Matthew Stafford: "I have heard about that. It doesn't make me feel better right about now."
  • Calvin Johnson: "At the end of the day, you can't leave it in the refs' hands."

Sheil Kapadia ESPN Writer 

Pete Carroll admitted that the Seahawks caught a break on the game-changing play late in the fourth quarter. Seahawks LB K.J. Wright batted the Calvin Johnson fumble out of the back of the end zone, but the officials ruled a touchback for Seattle. "We were fortunate," Carroll said.

Caldwell: 'We're not going to cry about it'

Lions coach Jim Caldwell on the ref's missed call after Seahawks LB K.J. Wright's batted ball was incorrectly ruled a touchback and possession for Seattle: "I mean what can you do? You know what I mean? We're not going to cry about it."


MikeTirico @miketirico

On the touchback. Official involved said he thought bat was inadvertent. Clearly it wasn't. Not reviewable because it is a foul

Gerry Austin: Wright play was illegal

Former NFL referee Gerry Austin explains why K.J. Wright batting the ball out of the end zone for a touchback was actually an illegal play.


Pete Carroll on controversial ending

"It's a very unique situation ... It was a difficult ending for [Detroit], of course. ... It's unfortunate the officials didn't know how to deal with it."

KC Joyner @KCJoynerTFS

When a punter bats it, it's out of his own end zone & is a safety so the illegal bat isn't accepted.