Discussion

Answering questions about instant replay

Santonio Holmes' controversial touchdown catch in the Steelers' win over the Ravens on Sunday sparked another debate about replay. John Clayton provides questions -- and answers -- about the hot topic.

Originally Published: December 11, 2008
By John Clayton | ESPN.com

On a booth replay challenge of Santonio Holmes' 4-yard catch with 50 seconds left in the Steelers' AFC North showdown against the Ravens on Sunday, referee Walt Coleman overruled head linesman Paul Weidner. After reviewing replays, Coleman ruled that Holmes had broken the plane of the goal line with the ball and awarded Pittsburgh a touchdown, giving the Steelers a 13-9 win and the AFC North title.

Ravens linebacker Ray Lewis and others thought Holmes didn't get the ball across the ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

ALSO SEE

MORE NFL HEADLINES