Is the AFC on the wane?

Of conference's remaining QBs, only Brady seems to have Super Bowl mettle

Originally Published: January 13, 2012
By Ashley Fox | ESPN.com

The NFL is cyclical.

Earlier this century, the AFC won four straight Super Bowls and there was a stretch from the 1997 season through the 2006 season when the conference won eight of 10 championships.

The NFC has not won three consecutive Super Bowl titles since Dallas actually knew how to win a championship. Remember those glory days? From the 1984 season through the 1996 season, the NFC won 13 straight Super Bowls. The 49ers won four in that stretch. The Cowboys won three.

How ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?