Vilma, Dawkins added to Pro Bowl rosters after injuries

Jets linebacker Jonathan Vilma and Eagles safety Brian Dawkins were named as replacements for the Pro Bowl on Wednesday.

Vilma will replace Zach Thomas of the Dolphins on the AFC's team, while Dawkins will take the spot of Chicago Bears safety Mike Brown, who dropped out with an injury, on the NFC's side.

"I hate to go because somebody has gone down with an injury, but being the first alternate, that happens," Dawkins said. "This is something that I work for each and every year and I never take it for granted. It's an honor."

Dawkins will be making the fifth Pro Bowl appearance and his second straight. He finished with 3½ sacks and three interceptions and was third on the team with 125 tackles.

Dawkins becomes the second Eagles player named to the Pro Bowl, joining linebacker Jeremiah Trotter.

Thomas, who was selected for his fifth Pro Bowl, pulled out Wednesday after battling shoulder and ankle injuries late in the season. Vilma, the 2004 Defensive Rookie of the Year, led the NFL in tackles with 173 and will be making his first trip to the all-star game.

Vilma joins cornerback Ty Law as the only Jets to make the Pro Bowl roster.

"It's an honor for me to be selected to play in the Pro Bowl," Vilma said in a statement. "It was one of my goals when I set my sights on playing in the National Football League and I am excited to play with all the great players that have also been selected."

Bears tight end Desmond Clark earned his first invitation to the Pro Bowl as an NFC need player, while teammates Brian Urlacher and Olin Kreutz withdrew.

Clark became the seventh Bear to be invited, joining Urlacher, Kreutz, Brown, linebacker Lance Briggs, defensive tackle Tommie Harris and cornerback Nathan Vasher. Initially a third alternate, Clark caught 24 passes for 229 yards in his seventh season.

With Urlacher -- the Associated Press NFL Defensive Player of the Year and the face of a unit that allowed the fewest points in the
league -- out, Seattle Seahawks linebacker Lofa Tatupu will head to Honolulu next month. He will be joined by teammate Robbie Tobeck,
Kreutz's replacement.

Tobeck and Tatapu join guard Steve Hutchinson, offensive tackle Walter Jones, running back Shaun Alexander, fullback Mack Strong and quarterback Matt Hasselbeck, who were chosen as starters. The seven total selections tie the franchise record set after the 1984 season when Seattle went 12-4.

"It's a real honor and a humbling thing to reach that goal," said Tobeck, now in his sixth season with the Seahawks. "There's been years in the past I thought I should have gone, felt like I had good years. Part of it is being on a good team and being surrounded by good guys. ... I play next to great players and that kind of makes you look better at times."

After leaving USC following his junior season, Tatupu led the Seahawks in tackles during the regular season with 105 -- becoming the first rookie to lead the team in tackles since Terry Beeson in 1977.

In the playoffs, Tatupu had 10 tackles against the Redskins and three tackles and an interception against Carolina in the NFC title game before leaving with a mild concussion.

"I just couldn't believe it," Tatupu said. "I am just grateful and very thankful that I am to represent the Seahawks with all the other guys."

It was the sixth selection for Jones, the third for Alexander and Hutchinson, second for Hasselbeck and first for Strong.

Tennessee Titans defensive end Kyle Vanden Bosch was added to the AFC Pro Bowl roster as an injury replacement for Miami's Jason Taylor.

Vanden Bosch finished second in the AFC and fourth in the NFL with 12.5 sacks. He also had 100 tackles, second on the Titans behind linebacker Keith Bulluck's 150.

Vanden Bosch finished his first year with Tennessee after spending four injury-plagued seasons in Arizona. He is the first Titans player on the roster for this year's game.

The Pro Bowl is Feb. 12 in Honolulu.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.