Controversy reigns after Chancellor strips Megatron
Kam Chancellor saved the game for the Seahawks when he stripped Calvin Johnson just inches from the goal line with less than two minutes left. However, K.J. Wright batted the ball out of the back of the end zone for a touchback that should've been a penalty.
Reactions to controversial ending
- SEA coach Pete Carroll: "We were fortunate."
- DET coach Jim Caldwell: "We're not going to cry about it."
- DET WR Calvin Johnson: "At the end of the day, you can't leave it in the referees' hands."
- SEA LB K.J. Wright: "I wanted to just knock it out of bounds and not try to catch it and fumble it."
Bennett: Chancellor needs to get paid
Seahawks DE Michael Bennett videobombed teammate Kam Chancellor's interview by yelling "Pay him!"
$350K gambling scandal erupts in DFS
According to The New York Times, a DraftKings employee admitted last week to inadvertently releasing data before the start of the third week of NFL games, a move akin to insider trading in the stock market. The employee -- a midlevel content manager -- won $350,000 at rival site FanDuel that same week. Story
How should Lions react to ending?
Scott Van Pelt asks Louis Riddick how he would react to NFL VP of Officiating Dean Blandino's statement that the referees incorrectly handled the K.J. Wright batted ball that gave the Seahawks a touchback: "What can you do?"
Bennett blames Stafford for JFK?
A day after his brother made an audacious claim, Seattle Seahawks defensive end Michael Bennett might have one-upped him by saying he holds the JFK assassination against Matthew Stafford. Bennett's strange claim
Sheil Kapadia @SheilKapadia
K.J. Wright left no doubt about his intention on fumble. "I wanted to just knock it out of bounds and not try to catch it and fumble it."
Seahawks hang on to top Lions
Kam Chancellor forced Calvin Johnson to fumble at the goal line late in the fourth quarter, securing Seattle's 13-10 win over Detroit.
Chancellor saves game for Seattle
Seahawks S Kam Chancellor on his game-changing fumble against Calvin Johnson, which helped seal Seattle's 13-10 win over Detroit: "It's never over 'til you cross that end zone."
Explanation from the officiating crew
NFL VP of Officiating Dean Blandino after speaking to the officiating crew at Monday night's Seahawks-Lions game: "I have spoken to the referee (Tony Corrente). He did not see that part of the play because that is not his area. The back judge (Greg Wilson) felt is was not an intentional act, that it was inadvertent."
Ed Werder @Edwerderespn
In replays, back judge Greg Wilson is on end line, staring at KJ Wright with unobstructed view and rules tap was inadvertent
Controversial finish to Monday night game
After Kam Chancellor forced the Calvin Johnson fumble near the goal line, KJ Wright batted the ball in the end zone over the back line for a touchback. Wright's play was illegal, according to Dean Blandino, head of NFL officiating, and thus the Lions should have gotten the ball back at half yard line. Story
VP of Officiating on controversial ending
Dean Blandino, NFL VP of Officiating, on KJ Wright batting the ball out of the end zone: "Judgment call on the field. Back judge felt it wasn't overt. That's why he didn't call it on the field."
Michael Rothstein ESPN Staff Writer
Lions WR Calvin Johnson was asked about being part of another controversial call going against him -- like the process catch rule: "At the end of the day you can't leave it in the referee's hands."
Lions' reaction to controversial ending
- Matthew Stafford: "I have heard about that. It doesn't make me feel better right about now."
- Calvin Johnson: "At the end of the day, you can't leave it in the refs' hands."
Sheil Kapadia ESPN Writer
Pete Carroll admitted that the Seahawks caught a break on the game-changing play late in the fourth quarter. Seahawks LB K.J. Wright batted the Calvin Johnson fumble out of the back of the end zone, but the officials ruled a touchback for Seattle. "We were fortunate," Carroll said.
Caldwell: 'We're not going to cry about it'
Lions coach Jim Caldwell on the ref's missed call after Seahawks LB K.J. Wright's batted ball was incorrectly ruled a touchback and possession for Seattle: "I mean what can you do? You know what I mean? We're not going to cry about it."
Gerry Austin: Wright play was illegal
Former NFL referee Gerry Austin explains why K.J. Wright batting the ball out of the end zone for a touchback was actually an illegal play.
Pete Carroll on controversial ending
"It's a very unique situation ... It was a difficult ending for [Detroit], of course. ... It's unfortunate the officials didn't know how to deal with it."
KC Joyner @KCJoynerTFS
When a punter bats it, it's out of his own end zone & is a safety so the illegal bat isn't accepted.