NFL Scoreboard

Auto Update: On


David Newton ESPN Staff Writer 

New Hall Of Fame member Kevin Greene had 41.5 of his career 160 sacks during his three seasons with the Panthers (1996, '98, '99).

Jeff Legwold @Jeff_Legwold

The five guys who made cut to 10, but didn't make it this yr also would have made quality HOF class-- Coryell, Davis, Jacoby, Lynch, Warner.

Favre leads class for Pro Football HOF

QB Brett Favre, WR Marvin Harrison, OT Orlando Pace, LB Kevin Greene and coach Tony Dungy were elected among the modern-day candidates. QB Ken Stabler and OL Dick Stanfel were elected from the senior committee, and ex-49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo was elected as a contributor.

Jay Drowns/Sporting News/Getty Images

Mike Triplett ESPN Staff Writer 

Saints QB Drew Brees was selected as the Castrol EDGE Clutch Performer of the Year for his 7-TD performance that topped Eli Manning's 6 TDs in New Orleans' 52-49 win over the Giants.

Tania Ganguli ESPN Staff Writer 

Texans defensive end JJ Watt received 37 of 50 votes for defensive player of the year. He is one of two players to have won the award three times. Los Angeles Rams tackle Aaron Donald got seven votes, Panthers linebacker Luke Kuechly got four votes and Panthers cornerback Josh Norman got 2 votes.

Michael Rothstein ESPN Staff Writer 

The Lions will have a presence in Canton this year as former guard Dick Stanfel has made the Hall of Fame as one of the senior candidates. Stanfel played for the Lions from 1952 to 1955.

Paul Gutierrez ESPN Staff Writer 

"The Chiefs stole the draft last year." - Chiefs DB Marcus Peters, AP defensive rookie of the year

Mike Wells ESPN Staff Writer 

Very good night for the Colts with Tony Dungy and Marvin Harrison being named to the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2016

Paul Kuharsky ESPN Staff Writer 

Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2016: Eddie DeBartolo, Tony Dungy, Brett Favre, Kevin Greene, Marvin Harrison, Orlando Pace, Ken Stabler, Dick Stanfel.

Jeff Legwold @Jeff_Legwold

#HOF Class of '16...Dungy, Favre, Greene, Harrison, Pace (modern era). Stanfel, Stabler (seniors), DeBartolo (contributor).

J.J. Watt wins top defensive player for 3rd time

The Texans DE joins Lawrence Taylor as the only three-time winners of the award. Watt, who led the league with 17 1/2 sacks, got 37 of a possible 50 votes. The Rams' Aaron Donald was second with 7 votes and the Panthers' Luke Kuechly third with 4 votes.

AP Photo/David J. Phillip

John Keim ESPN Staff Writer 

Former Redskins tackle Joe Jacoby says via text that he did not get into the Hall of Fame. "Not this year," Jacoby texted. He was a finalist for the first time.

Adam Teicher ESPN Staff Writer 

The Chiefs added their second award of the night when Marcus Peters was named defensive rookie of the year. He tied for the NFL lead in interceptions with eight.

Marcus Peters named top defensive rookie

Chiefs CB Marcus Peters, the 18th overall pick in the 2015 draft, earned the award after tying for the NFL lead with 8 interceptions, returning two for TDs. Peters got 45 of a possible 50 votes, with the Bills' Ronald Darby getting 4 votes and the Jets' Leonard Williams earning one.

Denny Medley/USA TODAY Sports

ESPN Stats & Info @ESPNStatsInfo

Eric Berry: Comeback Player of the Year Played all 16 games this season, a year after playing 6 games after being diagnosed with lymphoma.

Eric Berry wins comeback player of the year

The Chiefs safety had 61 tackles and two interceptions in 2015 after missing much of the 2014 season battling lymphoma. Berry earned 38 of a possible 50 votes, well ahead of Cardinals QB Carson Palmer, who had 6 votes.

Jamie Squire/Getty Images

Adam Teicher ESPN Staff Writer 

Eric Berry's remarkable story added another chapter when he was named as the NFL's comeback player of the year. The Kansas City Chiefs safety was diagnosed in November 2014 with Hodgkin lymphoma but was determined not to miss any of the 2015 season. Because of an arduous workout regimen that included conditioning sessions during his chemotherapy treatments, Berry was back with the Chiefs for the start of the season. He played well enough to make the Pro Bowl.

Paul Kuharsky ESPN Staff Writer 

Bird's eye view of NFL Honors.

Cam Newton wins offensive player of the year

The Panthers QB passed for 35 TDs and ran for 10 more this season. He earned 18 of a possible 50 votes, with Steelers WR Antonio Brown finishing second with 10 votes.

AP Photo/Bob Leverone

David Newton ESPN Staff Writer 

Cam Newton becomes the first Carolina player to win the NFL Offensive Player of the Year. NFL MVP will come later.

Paul Gutierrez ESPN Staff Writer 

"I couldn't even picture myself being in these shoes a year ago." - Rams RB/offensive rookie of the year Todd Gurley

Todd Gurley wins offensive rookie of the year

The Rams RB rushed for 1,106 yards and 10 TDs this season in just 13 games. He earned 27 out of a possible 50 votes for the honor. Bucs QB Jameis Winston finished second with 17 votes.

Norm Hall/Getty Images

Nick Wagoner ESPN Staff Writer 

Los Angeles Rams running back Todd Gurley has been named the Associated Press' Offensive Rookie of the Year. Gurley led all rookies in rushing yards and finished third in the NFL in rushing amongst all players. His award comes on the heels of Rams DT Aaron Donald winning the Defensive Rookie of the Year in 2015. Gurley is the first Ram to win the Offensive Rookie of the Year since Sam Bradford after the 2010 season.