<
>

NFL executive says umpire blew call

The NFL admitted on Tuesday that the illegal hit by Chargers defensive tackle Cam Thomas on a Texans field goal attempt in the fourth quarter of San Diego's 31-28 loss to Houston Monday night was incorrect.

NFL vice president of officiating Dean Blandino, speaking on NFL Network, said the flagged hit on long snapper Jon Weeks, which wiped out the field goal and awarded the Texans a 10-yard penalty and a first down, should not have been penalized.

The roughing-the-snapper infraction gave the Texans the ball on the Chargers' 9, and Owen Daniels scored on the next play, giving Houston an extra four points in a game it eventually won by 3.

"This was not a correct call," Blandino said, as quoted by ProFootballTalk.com. "This is not the intent of the rule as it was written. The rule is to protect the snapper on a field goal or an extra point from a direct forcible blow to the head or neck area, or with the crown, forehead, hairline parts of the helmet to the body. It was not designed to prohibit any contact with the snapper, which is what happened on this play."

Blandino acknowledged the umpire erred when he ruled Thomas had roughed Weeks, but after league officials got to see several review angles on Tuesday they felt that Thomas made incidental contact.

"It's a judgment call by the umpire, he's looking at that, and in his judgment, he felt that it was enough for a foul," Blandino said. "And in our review today, we felt that it was not."