Getty Images

LeBrun: No need to defend Hall's inductees

There's no arguing with the Hockey Hall of Fame's Class of 2015, which includes Sergei Fedorov, Nicklas Lidstrom, Phil Housley and Chris Pronger.

Nick Turchiaro/Icon Sportswire/AP Images

Niemi reaches three-year contract with Stars

The Dallas Stars have signed goalie Antti Niemi to a three-year contract, the team announced Monday. The deal is worth $4.5 million per season, an NHL source confirmed with ESPN.com.

AP Photo/Jae C. Hong
7hPierre LeBrun

Rumblings: Matt Beleskey in high demand

Matt Beleskey has received interest from a dozen teams since the free-agent interview period opened, according to his agent.

Bruce Bennett/Getty Images
1dCraig Custance

Sabres lead most improved teams out of 2015 draft

FT. LAUDERDALE, Fla. -- We knew the Sabres were going to be better. We knew they were getting a franchise-changing center in Jack Eichel. The only suspense was just how long GM Tim Murray’s Eichel announcement would take -- and he kept it under four seconds.

Getty Images

2015 NHL Draft Board

Here are all the picks from Connor McDavid to No. 211 from the 2015 draft.

McDavid, Eichel just the start for Oilers, Sabres (3:51)
Brent Lewis/The Denver Post/Getty Images

2015-16 NHL Trade Tracker

ESPN.com keeps tabs on all the deals made in the 2015-16 season, starting in the days leading up to the 2015 draft.

Busy day for Rangers (3:31)
Eichel on getting drafted by Sabres (1:48)


Katie Strang @KatieStrangESPN

Brenden Dillon has agreed to terms on a five-year contract extension with the San Jose Sharks, agent Jarrett Bousquet confirms

John Buccigross @Buccigross

Most James Norris Memorial Trophies - NHL History Bobby Orr 8 Nicklas Lidstrom 7 Doug Harvey 7 Ray Bourque 5

Lidstrom leads Hockey HOF Class of 2015

This year's Hockey Hall of Fame class: Nicklas Lidstrom, Sergei Fedorov, Phil Housley, Chris Pronger, Angela Ruggiero plus Bill Hay and Peter Karmanos in the builders category. They will officially be inducted on November 9. 7 elected

Dave Reginek/Getty Images

9 players from 2002 Red Wings now in HOF

With the elections of Nicklas Lidstrom and Sergei Fedorov today, the 2002 Stanley Cup champs now have 9 players in the Hall of Fame: Igor Larionov, Steve Yzerman, Brett Hull, Luc Robitaille, Chris Chelios, Brendan Shanahan, Dominik Hasek, Lidstrom and Fedorov.

Blueliners dominate Hockey HOF Class

You could argue that three and a half defensemen got the Hockey Hall of Fame call. Nicklas Lidstrom, Chris Pronger and Phil Housley were joined by forward Sergei Fedorov, who took a whirl on defense for Scotty Bowman when injuries hit in Detroit. LeBrun: Best defense

Getty Images