USOC announces Hall of Fame finalists, including Kiraly, Boitano

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- David Robinson, Oscar De La Hoya
and Amy Van Dyken were among the finalists announced Wednesday for
consideration to the U.S. Olympic Committee Hall of Fame.

The USOC put out a list of 18 finalists, six of whom will be
chosen by fans online at www.usolympichalloffame.com. Voting goes
through March 28 and the inductees will be announced at the USOC
Olympic summit in April in Chicago.

Robinson led the U.S. basketball team to gold medals in 1992 and
'96. De La Hoya won a gold medal in 1992. Van Dyken won six swimming gold
medals -- four in 1996 and two more in 2000.

Also among the nominees are gold-medal wrestler Jeff Blatnick,
gold-medal figure skater Brian Boitano and Karch Kiraly, who helped
the U.S. men's volleyball team to gold medals in 1984 and '88, then came
back to win another gold in beach volleyball in 1996.

Five teams were nominated for induction. Among them were
Robinson's 1992 basketball team; the 1996 women's gymnastics team,
which won a gold medal behind Kerri Strug's courageous vault on an
injured ankle; and the 1998 women's hockey team, which won the
first women's gold medal in Olympic hockey.