Dream Team, Johnson lead nominees

CHICAGO -- The Dream Team is getting another shot.

The star-studded team that featured Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Larry Bird and Charles Barkley and won the gold medal in Barcelona was among the nominees announced Thursday for the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame. The 1992 squad was also nominated last year but got beat out by the Magnificent Seven gymnastics team that won gold in 1996.

Five individual athletes, one team and one Paralympian will be inducted Aug. 12 in Chicago, along with a coach, veteran and special contributor. Fans can vote through June 16 at www.teamusa.org, and the inductees will be announced in July.

Michael Johnson, the only man to win gold in the 200 and 400 meters at the same Olympics, headlines the individual nominees. Johnson won four Olympic gold medals, and the world record he set in the 200 meters in 1996 stood until Jamaica's Usain Bolt broke it in Beijing.

The other individual nominees are Greg Barton, canoe/kayak; Jeff Blatnick, wrestling; Valerie Brisco-Hooks and Willye White, athletics; Tracie Ruiz-Conforto, synchronized swimming; Teresa Edwards, basketball; Gary Hall Sr. and Mary T. Meagher, swimming; Sheila Young Ochowicz, speedskating; Darrell Pace, archery; Terry Schroeder, water polo; John Smith, wrestling; Picabo Street, alpine skiing; and Peter Westbrook, fencing.

The other teams nominated are the 1976 women's 400-meter freestyle relay; 1996 synchronized swimming; 1998 women's ice hockey; and 2002 women's bobsled.

The Paralympians nominated are Jean Driscoll, David Larson and Tony Volpentest, athletics; Greg Mannino and Sarah Will, alpine skiing.