Kramer first to win four overall title

HEERENVEEN, Netherlands -- Sven Kramer won the men's 10,000-meter race Sunday to successfully defend his title at the World Allround Speedskating Championships.

Martina Sablikova also defended her women's 5,000 title, finishing in 6 minutes, 50.98 seconds to top the standings.

Kramer won the race in 12 minutes, 57.97 seconds to become the first speedskater to earn four straight allround titles.

His last high-profile 10,000 didn't go as well. The Dutchman was cruising to an apparent gold and Olympic record time in the 10,000 in Vancouver, but was disqualified after his coach sent him into the wrong lane.

Retired skaters Rintje Ritsma and Ivar Ballangrud also had four titles each, but not successively.

Overnight leader Jonathan Kuck of the United States had to settle for second place after finishing fourth. Havard Bokko of Norway was second in Sunday's race to finish third overall.

Canada's Kristina Groves took the silver behind Sablikova after winning the 1,500 in 1:56.64. Olympic champion Ireen Wust of the Netherlands took third.