Steve Langton, Elana Meyers win titles

LAKE PLACID, N.Y. -- Steve Langton and 2010 Olympic bronze medalist Elana Meyers posted easy wins at the U.S. national bobsled push championships Thursday, giving each a boost heading into on-ice training next month.

Langton, who might be joining the USA-1 sled that delivered Olympic gold at the Vancouver Games, had a two-push time of 9.21 seconds. Justin Olsen (9.35) and Curt Tomasevicz (9.43) -- both of whom also push USA-1 with driver Steven Holcomb -- were second and third.

Meyers won the women's push event in 10.13 seconds, ahead of 2006 Olympic silver medalist Valerie Fleming (10.27) and Jamie Greubel (10.29). Meyers is trying to transition to driving this season, after pushing for the sled piloted by Erin Pac a year ago.

Team trials for the coming season are scheduled on the ice at Lake Placid on Oct. 15.