Coughlin returns after year off

AUSTIN, Texas -- Natalie Coughlin won the 100-meter backstroke at the Austin Grand Prix on Friday, her first victory since winning six medals at the 2008 Olympics.

Coughlin is competing for the first time since taking a year off after Beijing.

She won the 100 back in 1 minute, 1.08 seconds. Henriette Stenkvist was second and Olympian Margaret Hoelzer was third. Coughlin finished third in the 100 fly on Thursday.

Olympian Rebecca Soni won the 100 breaststroke in 1:06.43, bettering the University of Texas pool record and defeating Jessica Hardy and two-time Olympian Megan Jendrick.

Olympian Matt Grevers won the men's 100 back in 53.05 seconds, also lowering the pool record. He held off Nick Thoman and reigning Olympic champion Aaron Peirsol, who touched in third.

Ariana Kukors won the 400 individual medley, with Olympian Katie Hoff finishing second. Robert Margalis won the men's race.

In other races, Peter Vanderkaay won the men's 200 freestyle and Dana Vollmer won the women's race; and Mike Alexandrov won the men's 100 breast.