Olympic Sports >> Volleyball


You need to upgrade your Flash Player


  • 1 men's tournament
  • 1 women's tournament


12 teams divided into two groups of 6. Following an opening round-robin format, the top 4 teams from each group advance to the quarter-finals. The winner from group A plays the 4th placed team from group B and so on (A1-B4, A2-B2 or B3, A3-B3 or B2, A4-B1). Semi-finals (winner of A1-B4 against winner of A3-B3 or B2, winner of A2-B2 or B3 against winner of A4-B1). Semi-final winners meet in the final and the losers play for the bronze medal.



Volleyball is created by American William G. Morgan.


The number of players is fixed to six per team.


The number of touches of the ball is set at a maximum of three per team.


The USSR win the first men's world championships.


The first women's world championships take place. Victory for the USSR.


Volleyball becomes an Olympic sport at the Tokyo Games.


Points are scored for the first time after each exchange at an Olympic tournament. The libero player is also utilised.


Alexandre Savin (USSR)

The symbol. Gold medalist at the 1980 Games in Moscow and the symbol of Soviet domination during the 1980's. Six-time European champion and world championship winner in 1978 and 1982.

Karch Kiraly (United States)

The all-rounder. An Olympic champion in 1984 and 1988, this all round player then added a third title by winning the first Olympic beach volley tournament in 1996. He also won the world title in 1986 and European Champions Cup in 1992.

Regla Torres (Cuba)

The greatest. Triple Olympic champion at the Games in 1992, 1996 and 2000. Double world champion in 1994 and 1998. Her fantastic career was rewarded with the distinction of player of the century allocated by the international federation.

Copyright 2012 Agence France-Presse.