Tricky Dick returns

With all precincts reporting, Tricky Dick Lou presides over the National Shoot-to-Retrieve Association as its 2010 Dog of the Year.

Owned by Chris Mullins of Selmer, Tenn., and handled by his grandfather, Bill Moore, owner of Tricky Dick Breeding, Lou bested 191 other pointing dogs from 28 regions to be crowned National Champion.

Taking second in the 2010 National Dog of the Year Championship in Amo, Ind., was Donald Boywer of Virginia with Willie's Repeat. Finishing in third place was Jeff Joyner of South Carolina Region with Great Oaks Holiday.

Ashley McCandless of Kentucky was fourth with McCandless Titlest Driver.

To participate in the Dog of the Year Trial, dogs had to first qualify at the Regional Championship trials, conducted under hunting conditions to closely resemble actual wild bird hunting. Points are scored for each find and each retrieve, as well as the dog's first back. The dog is judged on his ground coverage and obedience throughout his running.

Championship points are awarded at all recognized NSTRA trials depending on the number of dogs entered. At full trials (32 dog maximum) 3 points are awarded for first place, 2 points for second and 1 point for third. When a dog accumulated a total of 18 points, with at least 9 points from first-place finishes, a Championship Certificate is issued.

The NSTRA field trials were started by a group of dedicated bird hunters who were looking for a way to extend their season. The Association was incorporated in 1978, and is a non-profit association with service to the members and sportsmanship as its goal.

There are currently 30 NSTRA Regions serving members in the lower 48 States and Canada.

NSTRA sanctioned Field Trials are open to all pointing breed dogs and are conducted by clubs and individuals throughout the country with minimum entry fees. There are more than 1,400 sanctioned trials each year. NSTRA also conducts 5 Championship Trials -- Quail Invitational, Trial of Champions, Grand National Invitational, Endurance Classic and Dog of the Year.

More information on can be found at the NSTRA.org.