Matt Hagan gets first win of season

CONCORD, N.C. -- Matt Hagan backed up his record-setting run by beating points leader Mike Neff in the Funny Car finals for his first victory of the season at the NHRA Nationals on Sunday.

Antron Brown (Top Fuel), Kurt Johnson (Pro Stock) and Eddie Krawiec (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also won in their respective categories in the first event of NHRA's six-race playoffs to determine the world championships.

On Friday, Hagan recorded the fastest-ever Funny Car run, clocking 3.995 seconds. He then had a time of 4.018 seconds in the first round on Sunday before getting 4.130 seconds at 301.07 mph against Neff for his fourth career win.

"It's something else to sit in a race car when it has that kind of potential," Hagan said. "This is the third national record we've set with this car and that's phenomenal to me. ... It's truly a fairy tale deal to go out there, set the record and win the race."

Hagan also moved 22 points behind Neff in the standings.

Don Schumacher Racing teammate Jack Beckman also set the new Funny Car record at 318.99 mph, but lost to Hagan in the semifinals.

Brown got his third straight win and fifth of the season in Top Fuel, holding off teammate Spencer Massey in the finals with a time of 3.784 seconds at 325.14 mph. Brown also moved atop the points standings for the first time this season.

Brown's other Don Schumacher Racing teammate Tony Schumacher set the Top Fuel record at 327.90 mph, while Massey took over the second spot in the points standings -- 16 points behind Brown.

In Pro Stock, Johnson held off Jason Line for his first win in more than three years. Johnson had a time of 6.545 at 210.97 past points leader Line to get his 40th career win.

Krawiec clocked his Harley-Davidosn in 6.870 at 196.42 to beat Karen Stoffer and strengthen his points lead.