Dani Pedrosa keeps Malaysian title

Updated: October 13, 2013, 10:09 AM ET
Associated Press

SEPANG, Malaysia -- Dani Pedrosa of Spain won the Malaysian MotoGP for the second straight year on Sunday.

Pedrosa, who started fifth on the grid, went to the front at the start and completed the 20-lap race under hot conditions in 40:45.191.

Fellow Spaniard and MotoGP rookie Marc Marquez completed a Repsol Honda Team one-two in 25:46.974, edging Yamaha rider Jorge Lorenzo. The reigning world champion rounded out the podium for Spain in a time of 25:48.321.

Multiple world champion Valentino Rossi of Italy, who started second on the front row, was fourth, 10.351 seconds behind the winner.

Earlier, Spaniard Esteve Rabat led from the start and won the Moto2. Spain's Luis Salom moved closer to clinching the Moto3 title after earning his seventh win of the season.

Copyright 2013 by The Associated Press


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.