Bayne youngest to win 3 straight poles

NEWTON, Iowa -- Trevor Bayne has become the first Nationwide series driver in 18 years to capture three consecutive poles.

The 19-year-old Bayne took the pole for Saturday night's race at Iowa Speedway. He's the first driver to start out front in three straight races since Jeff Gordon did it in 1992.

Michael Waltrip, Mark Martin and Sam Ard also won three consecutive poles in the series back in the 1980s.

Bayne is also the youngest Nationwide driver to earn three straight poles, but he hasn't won in the series entering Saturday's race.

Bayne's best finish was third at Gateway two weeks ago.