Wilson joins Dreyer & Reinbold

INDIANAPOLIS -- Justin Wilson, the last driver outside of Target Chip Ganassi Racing or Team Penske to win an IndyCar Series race, will drive for Dreyer & Reinbold Racing in the 2010 Izod IndyCar Series.

The 32-year-old Wilson, of Sheffield, England, won at Belle Isle in 2008 for Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing and again last July at Watkins Glen International while driving for Dale Coyne Racing. He brings sponsor Z-Line Designs with him to Dreyer & Reinbold.

Another Englishman, 26-year-old Mike Conway, continues for a second season with Dreyer & Reinbold in the No. 24 car with sponsorship from Roll Coater and Dad's Root Beer. Wilson will run car No. 22.

"I'm excited about the potential of the team and I like the way they go about doing business," Wilson said. "It was a pretty tough call to leave Dale Coyne Racing and move on with my career. Not an easy decision, but this all came together very quickly in the last 2 weeks. I was pleased to get the opportunity."

While Conway ran full-time for Dreyer & Reinbold in 2009 with a best result of third place at Infineon Raceway, the team's second car alternated between Tomas Scheckter and Milka Duno. Owners Dennis Reinbold and Robbie Buhl hope that consistency in the driver lineup will help Dreyer & Reinbold record its first victory since Buhl won the team's debut race at Walt Disney World Speedway in 2000.

"In eleven years of Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, this is probably the biggest step we've ever made as a race team," remarked Buhl. "With guys like Justin and Mike in the car we feel we can be competitive day in and day out and this driver lineup is what is going to put us where we need to be."

Dale Coyne Racing has announced an association with the Boy Scouts of America, but has not announced its 2010 driver lineup.

John Oreovicz covers open-wheel racing for ESPN.com.