Spencer Massey earns Top Fuel win

ENGLISHTOWN, N.J. -- Spencer Massey raced to his second consecutive Top Fuel victory, beating points leader Del Worsham in the NHRA SuperNationals on Sunday at Old Bridge Township Raceway Park.

Mike Neff (Funny Car), Allen Johnson (Pro Stock) and Matt Smith (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also won their categories at the eighth of 22 events in the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series.

Massey beat Worsham in the final with a run of 3.821 seconds at 319.07 mph.

"It's awesome to beat the Alan Johnson/Al-Anabi/Del Worsham car in the final," said Massey, a four-time winner in his career. "The Al-Anabi car has been on a roll and running killer numbers, so we knew we had to be on our 'A' game, that the car had to run well and I had to be on my game. I even had a Full Throttle to amp myself up before I got in there."

Worsham kept the points lead with his fourth final-round appearance of the season, while teammate and defending event winner Larry Dixon reached the semifinals to move around seven-time world champion Tony Schumacher for the second spot in the standings.

In Funny Car, Neff held off No. 1 qualifer Cruz Pedregon to grab his second win of the season. Neff drove his Ford Mustang to a 4.071 at 314.09 after Pedregon posted a red-light start. It was Neff's third career win and fourth consecutive final-round appearance.

Pro Stock's Allen Johnson held off rookie Vincent Nobile to pick up his first win of the season. Johnson drove his Dodge Avenger to a 6.689 at 210.64 for the win after Nobile posted a red-light start in the final round. It was Johnson's ninth career win.

In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Smith held off points leader Karen Stoffer to grab his first win of the season. Smith's run of 6.900 a 191.73 on his Buell was enough to beat Stoffer on a holeshot and give the 2007 world champion his first win of the season and 13th of his career.