Discussion

When a tie can be considered a loss

Updated: June 19, 2010, 1:01 PM ET
By Jemele Hill | ESPN.com

JOHANNESBURG -- The horrific call that forced Team USA to settle for a 2-2 tie with Slovenia was so bad that I'm surprised Texas Rep. Joe Barton hasn't already called Malian referee Koman Coulibaly to apologize for the harsh criticism the official undoubtedly deserves.

For sure, after seeing the outcome of the U.S.-Slovenia match, English fans are probably snickering and thinking the United States deserved this karma, because a mishandled ball by goalkeeper Robert Green propelled ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

ALSO SEE

MORE SOCCER HEADLINES