Candidates for the Ray Guy Award are evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to their team with emphasis placed on the following categories: net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20, average return yardage and percentage not returned. In 2008, Matt Fodge of Oklahoma St. won the award.

To find out the official winners of college football's major awards, tune into The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards, (live on ESPN, Thursday, Dec. 10, at 7 p.m. ET). Chris Fowler, Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit will host the show which will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall on Disney's Boardwalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Florida.

  • Statistics as of Monday, November 23.

    Vote: Bednarik | Biletnikoff | Lou Groza | Maxwell | O'Brien | Outland | Thorpe | Walker

    The Nominees

    Drew Butler: Georgia's Butler has the longest average punt in the nation, booming 48.8 yard kicks like clockwork. So far, none of his kicks have been returnable, with receivers either fair catching or letting the ball go out of bounds.

    Chas Henry: Florida's punter has what some would consider an easy job; he's been needed les than thirty times this season. Henry delivers when he's called upon, however, with a 42.8 yard average and a rare ability to prevent other teams from being able to return his punts.

    Zoltan Mesko: Yet another player whose kicks are nigh-unreturnable, Mesko is eighth in the nation in average yards per punt. The Michigan punter routinely gives the other team an extra 44.5 yards to contend with.