Marlins manager Edwin Rodriguez called it "the worst call I've ever seen in my 30 years of professional baseball." By early this morning, umpire Bob Davidson's Wikipedia page (yes, umpires have Wikipedia pages) had been updated to include it alongside the controversial call Davidson made involving a triple-play-that-wasn't in the 1992 World Series.

But did Davidson actually get the call right in negating a potential game-winning hit by Florida's Gaby Sanchez with two outs in the bottom of the ninth against the Phillies?

Who doesn't like a little stitled rules language with their morning coffee? Let's go to the official MLB rules:

So while the ball clearly lands in fair territory on the outfield grass, was it fair when it passed over the bag at third base? Check out the video above (something MLB might want to consider letting its umpires do) and decide for yourself.

skyrmj1

the ball did land in fair territory passed the bag, but that has no relevance. davidson saw the ball in foul territory when it crossed 3rd base. the ball did some funky things, so it very well could have rounded 3rd base in foul terrritory. davidson got severak other calls exactly right and i wouldn't doubt him on that call either.

-- skyrmj1
budwhy

Mr. Davidson ... admit you made a mistake. the ball was fair before it got to third and it was fair when it went behind third, so unless it was a wicked curve ball - the ball was fair. Just admit you blew the call, and quit guessing out there. it is tough to call it when your head was turned away after the first bounce.

-- budwhy
da_suit

the ball was never foul. The bounce right before 3rd base was directly on the chalk. So the ball would've had to defy physics by bouncing fair...go over the bag foul...and then bounce further fair after the bag....that's some magical ball.

-- da_suit

Comment »

SPONSORED HEADLINES