The Lou Groza Award is named for Pro Football Hall of Fame kicker Lou "The Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. He is regarded as the first kicker to be truly considered an offensive weapon. The 2011 award went to Texas A&M's Randy Bullock.

To find out the official winners of college football's major awards, tune into "The Home Depot College Football Awards" show live on ESPN at 7:30 p.m. ET on Dec. 6. Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit, Desmond Howard, Tom Rinaldi and Samantha Steele will host the show, which will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall on Disney's Boardwalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Statistics as of Monday, Nov. 19.

More: Maxwell | Bednarik | Ray Guy | Outland | Biletnikoff | Thorpe | Walker | O'Brien

The Lou Groza Award Nominees

Dustin Hopkins: Hopkins is 22-of-26 on field goals this season for Florida State and recently became the all-time NCAA scoring leader for kickers with his 448th point. He is 3-for-3 from 50 yards or more; he has missed one extra point.

Cairo Santos: The Tulane junior is 20-for-20 on field goals this season, and has hit 12 from 40 yards or more, and two from 50 or longer. His longest field goal of the season is 57 yards, against Rice. He is 24-of-25 on extra point attempts.

Caleb Sturgis: Florida's not-so-secret weapon is one field goal shy of tying Jeff Chandler's school record. He is 20-of-24 this season and is 3-for-3 from 50 yards or more. His longest field goal is 51 yards, and he is 28-of-29 on PATs.