Candidates for the Ray Guy Award for the nation's best punter are evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to their teams, with emphasis placed on: net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20, average return yardage and percentage not returned. In 2011, Ryan Allen of Louisiana Tech won the award.

To find out the official winners of college football's major awards, tune into "The Home Depot College Football Awards" show live on ESPN at 7:30 p.m. ET on Dec. 6. Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit, Desmond Howard, Tom Rinaldi and Samantha Steele will host the show, which will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall on Disney's Boardwalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Statistics as of Monday, Nov. 19.

More: Maxwell | Bednarik | Lou Groza | Outland | Biletnikoff | Thorpe | Walker | O'Brien

The Ray Guy Award Nominees

Ryan Allen: Last year's winner has a 48.1 average on 41 punts. He has placed 17 punts inside the 20-yard line for Louisiana Tech and seven of his punts have resulted in fair catches. His long punt this season is 85 yards, and he has had zero punts blocked.

Kyle Christy: Florida's punter has a 46.3 average on 58 punts, 24 of which traveled 50 yards or more. He has placed 25 punts inside the 20-yard line, and 19 were fair catches. His longest punt is 62 yards, and he has had one punt blocked.

Scott Kovanda: Ball State's punter has averaged 40.5 yards on 38 punts and has six punts of 50 yards or more. He has had 23 of his punts downed inside the 20-yard line; 16 were fair catches, and he has had zero punts blocked.

Comment »