The finalists for the 2012 Heisman Trophy have been announced, with Collin Klein, Johnny Manziel and Manti Te'o earning invitations to New York. Which player will follow in the footsteps of recent winners Robert Griffin III, Cam Newton, Mark Ingram, Sam Bradford and Tim Tebow?

To find out the winner of the Heisman Trophy, tune in to the Heisman Trophy presentation at 8 p.m. ET on Saturday on ESPN.

2012 Heisman Trophy Finalists

Collin Klein: The Kansas State senior quarterback has accounted for 37 of the Wildcats' 56 offensive touchdowns this season. He became the first quarterback from a BCS AQ school in the BCS era with 20 rushing touchdowns and 10 passing touchdowns in multiple seasons. His 55 career rushing touchdowns rank second among all active players, and are the fourth-most in Big 12 history, and he's thrown for at least 200 yards in six of his 12 games this season.

Johnny Manziel: The redshirt freshman has made quite a first impression. "Johnny Football" has rushed for a freshman-quarterback-record 1,181 yards, and his 4,600 yards of total offense are a school record for any class, and a national record for freshmen. He's just the fifth player in FBS history to pass for at least 3,000 yards and rush for 1,000, and the first to do it as a freshman, all while leading Texas A&M to a 10-2 mark in the Aggies' first year in the SEC.

Manti Te'o: The senior linebacker has awakened the echoes at Notre Dame, leading the Irish to the No. 1 ranking for the first time since 1993. He has a team-high 103 tackles, making him the first Fighting Irish player in more than 30 years to lead the team for three straight seasons. His seven interceptions are the most ever for a Notre Dame LB and rank him second nationally among all players as the Irish led the nation in scoring defense (10.3 ppg).

Comment »