Survey: No clear favorite to win WNBA title

NEW YORK -- There is no clear favorite for the WNBA
championship, though Seattle's Lauren Jackson is expected to be the
MVP this year, according to a survey of the league's general

Connecticut, Detroit, Houston, Seattle and defending champion
Sacramento all received about 18 percent of the votes by the GMs
who participated. The Shock and the Monarchs were selected by 46
percent to win their respective conference.

Jackson, the 2003 league MVP, was selected by 46 percent to win
this season's award after narrowly missing out last year. The
Sparks' Lisa Leslie, a two-time MVP, and the Indiana Fever's Tamika
Catchings were second, with each receiving nearly 20 percent.

Jackson also tied with Phoenix's Diana Taurasi and Detroit's
Deanna Nolan -- each with 15 percent of the vote -- as the player GMs
most want taking the final shot with the game on the line.

The WNBA's 10th season opens Saturday with four games, including
the Mercury visiting the Monarchs.